Annual Delegates Meeting

Annual Delegates Meeting
The 2023 Delegates Meeting will be held Nov. 5-6.
Contact Us

(800) 348-7298, Ext. 4785

Save the date: The 2023 Delegates Meeting will be held Nov. 5-6 at the Saratoga Springs City Center. Check this page in the fall for details.

2022 Delegates Meeting

Thank you to all the NYSTRS delegates, alternates and guests who attended the Annual Delegates Meeting, held in person Sunday, Nov. 6 – Monday, Nov. 7 at the Saratoga Springs City Center and virtually. Nearly 600 delegates registered for the event.

The agenda included our traditional full slate of educational presentations about NYSTRS' benefits and our strength as a pension system, our popular Delegate-Board/Staff Discussion, and the re-election of Teacher Board Member Juliet C. Benaquisto, a teacher in the Schenectady City School District, for the 2023-2026 term.

Following are videos and slides from the presentations and sessions conducted at the Delegates Meeting.

Key Retirement Decisions You Must MakeSelecting your retirement date and your benefit payment option are two of the biggest decisions you will make. In this presentation we guide you through the important considerations and the process for filing for retirement. (Download presentation slides)

Social Security InformationIn this session, we reviewed key Social Security benefit information, including collecting your Social Security early vs. waiting until full retirement age; the calculation of cost-of-living adjustments; and post retirement earnings limits. (Download presentation slides)

How You Can Receive All the Service Credit for Which You Are EligibleYour work as a teacher is just one of the ways to earn service credit toward your benefit calculation. Learn how to apply for other credit (e.g., prior service; military service; transfer; reinstatement). (Download presentation slides)

Earnings After Retirement: Learn how state laws and executive orders have changed the rules governing earnings after retirement and what members need to know if they plan to work after retirement. The Section 212 earnings limit, Section 211 waivers, and suspending your retirement benefit under Section 503.11 are covered. (Download presentation slides)

Using NYSTRS Resources Throughout Your MembershipThere are so many tools NYSTRS offers to help you as a member (e.g., our website, MyNYSTRS account, annual Benefit Profile, benefits consultations, online PREP materials, publications, videos, mobile app, Pension Education Toolkit). Discover how to best use these resources to guide you throughout your membership. (Download presentation slides)

Why Pensions Matter More Than EverThe retirement outlook for many Americans is getting more and more challenging. As a NYSTRS member who participates in a defined benefit plan and is also eligible for Social Security coverage, you are much more likely to enjoy a well-deserved retirement. Learn about the latest news and research in this retirement industry update. (Download presentation slides)

NYSTRS’ Year in Review and the Long-Term Stability of the SystemIt’s been another busy year at NYSTRS. Catch up on everything that’s new and improved. Here we review the financial strength and stability of the System and explain our approach to long-term success. (Download presentation slides)

Delegate-Board/Staff Discussion

Election of Teacher Board Member

We appreciate you serving as a delegate and being a liaison with NYSTRS members in your district. We routinely email you pertinent information to assist you in your role as a delegate. We also send you educational information we hope you share with your colleagues to keep them informed about NYSTRS.

Our primary means of reaching you is your school email address. Look for emails from us with the sender name "Convention Delegate" and address. We send Delegates Meeting information, Delegate News, and monthly NYSTRS News emails to educate you on the System and to provide retirement planning information. If you do not receive our emails, check your spam folder or contact your IT department and ask them to whitelist emails from

Nearly 600 delegates participated in NYSTRS' 2021 Annual Delegates Meeting held virtually on Friday, Oct. 29. They voted to elect Bayport-Blue Point teacher Eric J. Iberger and Schenectady teacher Juliet C. Benaquisto to the NYSTRS Board of Trustees. The meeting also featured educational presentations and the Delegate-Board/Staff discussion.

Following are videos and slides from the presentations and sessions conducted at the Delegates Meeting.

The NYSTRS Year in Review and the Long-Term Stability of the System: In this presentation, we updated delegates on our customer service initiatives in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, explained how recently passed NYS legislation may impact our membership, reviewed the new features we have introduced to our online portals for members and employers and explored the System’s continued financial strength and stability, commemorated the System’s 100th anniversary and shared the sentiments members have shared with us during our centennial celebration. (Download presentation slides)

Delegate-Board/Staff Discussion: NYSTRS Board members and staff answered a wide range of questions submitted by delegates prior to the 2021 Delegates Meeting.

Election of Teacher Board Members: Votes were cast and teachers Eric J. Iberger and Juliet C. Benaquisto were elected to NYSTRS’ 10-member Board.

MyNYSTRS: Access to Your NYSTRS Information and Convenience At Your Fingertips: This session highlighted the many advantages of having a secure online MyNYSTRS account. We covered each of the self-service features available to members, including the new enhancements we have made which provide additional convenience. (Download presentation slides; there is no video companion)

Social Security Overview: What You Need to Know: In this presentation, we reviewed important things to know about Social Security benefits. Topics included eligibility, spousal benefits, knowing how your benefit is calculated and understanding how to collect. (Download presentation slides)

Supplemental Meeting Material:

For information on how to treat Annual Delegates Meeting attendance, salary and expense issues, refer to:

Back to top