Delegates Re-Elect Chetney to NYSTRS Board


Delegates attending NYSTRS’ 2023 Annual Delegates Meeting re-elected Baldwinsville teacher Elizabeth A. Chetney to NYSTRS’ Board of Trustees. More than 600 delegates from across the state participated in the Nov. 5-6 meeting held at the Saratoga Springs City Center.

Chetney, who was re-elected to a new three-year term beginning Feb. 1, 2024, chairs the Board’s Disability Review Committee and serves on the Ethics, Executive, Investment and Risk committees.

After the vote, Chetney thanked delegates for their support saying “Thank you so much for trusting me again to represent you on the NYSTRS Board that holds the responsibility of safeguarding your pension. This privilege is not one I take lightly and I want to extend my heartfelt thanks for entrusting me with this vital role once again.”

She added, “I get the unique privilege to present to NYSTRS members around the state, helping them understand the significance and power of their retirement plan and its many benefits. The ability to educate and empower individuals to learn about their pension, as well as provide comfort and guidance during difficult conversations when a member gets ill, is a responsibility I treasure. For me, it is about sharing knowledge and instilling confidence as you and your colleagues make retirement decisions, while fostering a real sense of security for each person’s individual journey to their next stage of life.”

First elected to the Board in 2019, Chetney has taught in the Baldwinsville Central School District since 1992, serving as an English teacher in all but one of those years. She has permanent certifications in both elementary education and English grades 7-12. A long-time NYSTRS delegate, Chetney has served as president of the Baldwinsville Teachers’ Association since 2009. Previously, she served as her local union’s vice president and secretary.

Chetney is also co-president of the Onondaga County Teachers’ Association. In addition, she has served New York State United Teachers (NYSUT) in several capacities, including working as a member of the NYSUT Pension and Retirement Committee, the NYSUT Policy Committee and the Committee of 100. Chetney is a graduate of SUNY Oswego with both a bachelor’s and a master’s degree in education.

The other active teacher Board members on the Board are Juliet C. Benaquisto of the Schenectady City School District and Eric J. Iberger of the Bayport-Blue Point Union Free School District. Board President David P. Keefe of Hempstead is the retired teacher representative.

The Delegates Meeting featured informational sessions and a Delegate-Board/Staff Discussion.  Recorded presentations will be posted soon on the Annual Delegates Meeting page.

Delegates, who are elected by their peers, serve as liaisons between NYSTRS and teachers in their district. They are also responsible for electing an active teacher member to the System’s Board.

NYSTRS Board members serve without compensation and represent various constituents, including teachers, school administrators and school boards. They are responsible as fiduciaries to protect the long-term value of the System’s investment portfolio for its more than 449,000 active and retired members and beneficiaries.